My collections of tat: Toys & Games

Earlier this year I had a clean out and got to document some of the awesome collections of awesome things that I’ve accumulated over the years.  Such as these:

Look, it’s WALL-E and EVE!

GenerationsH

Okay, actually it’s a 1980′s TOMY Dingbot, OMS-B (which you can no longer read on the sticker, sadly) and a 2014 WowWee MiP, who actually kept twitching every time the flash went off on my camera.  The Dingbot’s not the original one I had as a child, but one I rescued from a charity shop a few years ago and has since become my personal mascot.

And this thing is MERP – the Middle Earth Role Playing game:

Yes, it was a pen and paper roleplaying game set in Tolkien’s Middle-Earth, designed in the USA, produced in the UK by Games Workshop (don’t know what’s happened to them since).  All of this came in it’s own box originally, but boxes are apparently my mother’s sworn enemy as she also throws them away.  And there are some maps I assume are to do with this as they were stored together, and a whole bunch of character record sheets most of which have gone mouldy and yellow.

You know, I’ve never actually played this.  When I was young, the rules just seemed too complicated and I would have rather just played with my toys and computers.  Now I’m older and more patient, so dare I look inside and attempt to play it?  Hmmm… we’ll see.  I expect I’ll need any dice, and possibly some other people who also have the time and patience to try it, so we’ll see.

And I’ve got this, for some reason, even though I don’t have the actual Space Crusade game.  This was just an expansion:

I also weirdly found this in the Mission: Dreadnought box:

PoisonH

It’s just a jar of green goop with the word ‘Poison’ written on it.  I have no idea where it came from.

And lastly these cuddly toys:

CuddliesH

Just fetched them all down from the loft, and some of them are looking a little bit weathered, to say the least.  The Polar Bear has basically changed into a brown bear.  Anyway, he’s called Jingle – imaginatively named because when you press his hand, he plays Jingle Bells, or used to anyway.  I think someone still makes these bears, as I seem to recall seeing ones in far better condition in a store recently.  But this one must be about thirty years old as I’ve had all my life that I remember.  The dog too, who has lost an eye at some point.  You know I’m actually getting emotional seeing these old things again…

Anyway, the tiger is quite a lot newer, and the monkey newer still.  I just got him at a fair last year with the rest of the family.  There were some donkeys there and they were raising money for a sanctuary by selling a bunch of plushie toys.  I was reluctant to buy one at first.  The toys I was fine with, but I just didn’t want my money going to any donkeys.  Just don’t like the look of ’em, way they look into your soul and always seem to be plotting something.  But in the end I relented.

Leave a Reply

